13. ruj 2012.

Throne of Glass novellas by Sarah J. Maas

        The Assassin and the Pirate Lord is the first novella in which you met our main character Celaena Sardothien and her life. She introduce herself and shows you her life as an assassin. Being female assassin is very unusual  and she must work harder and be stronger to prove herself. She lives in men's world and in this short novella is described one of her mission. Her company here will be another assassin from Gulid, boy named Sam. This story shows us that assassins aren't coldblooded as people assume.

        The Assassin and the Desert is second novella and it continues few months after things with Pirate Lord have been done. Because Celaena made her own decisions she must pay the price. She is sent to the Desert where she will see what are her abilities and also that no matter how good she is there is always space for being better. In this book also we meet Celaena even better. We can understand her decisions and actions and also her doubts and desires.


   The Assassin and the Underworld is the third novella which also continues after the Celaena is back from the Red Desert. She goes back to her Guild. She is yet again back in her rooms and The King of Assassins has new missions for her. There she also finds Sam her "partner in crime" from the first novella. In this book we meet Celaena's city, she leads us through the city streets and on another for assassin unusual places like theater. Basically we meet Celaena's lady side if I can call it that way. Also Sam is more in more in her life.

       The Assassin and the Empire is last fourth novella in this series. Things are different now. Celaena found something she though she'd ever need. It's love. She also did another thing she though she won't be able to, she left her Guild. She left the place where she learnt all she knew and she also left one man that basically created her. Prize was high and therefore she must find a way to do her job again. It's not an easy task when against you is the one and only King of Assassins. We meet different Celaena here, the one who has the reason to live and survive. She cannot be reckless anymore but her job is too dangerous to protect herself and people she love.

        I must add that it's very unusual for me to do this, to write the reviews for novellas. But I did it in order to tell you to read novellas before the book. In them you meet Celaena, you see her life and her destiny. It'll help you understand her better so you could understand a lot of things in Throne of Glass. If you're afraid that you'll not enjoy Throne of Glass cause it'll be repeating from novellas trust me you have no idea how wrong you're. I'll tell you about it tomorrow when you should come back to see my Throne of Glass review.

Until then,

Broj komentara: 6:

  1. Brilliant reviews, Tanja! I haven't read the final novella yet, but I'm definitely looking forward to it. I agree that these should be read before the book. I started them after Throne of Glass, but I'm still really liking them. :)

  2. You should have read them before! :) But still I'm surprised how each one of them has amazing story! :) Thank you.

  3. Thanks for the advice! I have been dying to read Throne of Glass and have also heard the novellas are awesome. Good to know to read them first.

  4. You're welcome! I hope you'll enjoy them. :)

  5. I don't know about reading novellas but I love the covers. I just wish that they would differ more.

  6. Oh if you're planing on reading The Throne of Glass then you should read novellas first! :)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...